Redefined: Seeing Ourselves as God Sees Us

by Katelyn McNeil

“I am a fanatic, weird, random.”
“I am a Christian, quirky, optimistic.”
“I am loud, creative, insecure.”

I asked twenty women from my college campus to describe themselves in three words and write down the first words that come to each of their minds. These are just three of their answers. Interestingly enough, not one of these women wrote down the word ‘beautiful’. I think, how sad! Then again, I think, would I?  I am daughter, athlete and bubbly. I am also sister, musician, and intelligent. But, I am beautiful? Would I say it? I don’t know.

Some days I think, yes, I am beautiful and I am pleased. Other days I think, no, not so much. Then I’’m discouraged. Why? Well, to be honest, because sometimes I like what I see when I look in the mirror and other times I don’’t. The truth is though, the way God sees me it doesn’’t change from day to day.

Right now in my sweatpants and mismatched socks, God thinks I’’m beautiful.  Right now in my make-up left over from yesterday, God thinks I’’m beautiful.  Right now with pimples on my chin, God thinks I’’m beautiful… and He thinks you are too. God’’s view of us doesn’t fluctuate with the number of pimples, volume of frizz, or amount of cellulite we have. We buy into these lies that so easily deceive.

We need to start seeing ourselves as God sees us.
We need to start saying the truth:

I am God’s child (Jn. 1:12).
We are daughters of the Most High King, His princesses. We bear His image and share in His inheritance. We have been grafted into God’’s family, here we find belonging.

I have been bought with a price.  I belong to God (1 Cor. 6:19,20).
We have been given worth.  We cost something.  We cost Jesus’’ life and death.  Our beauty flows out of our value and this value out of God’’s choice to transform our lives.

I have been redeemed and forgiven of all my sins (Col. 1:14).
The ugliness of sin does not permanently scar our identities. We are redeemed from failure, guilt and shame.  When we can let go of our past, as well as our sin, we can begin to see ourselves as God sees us -– beautifully.

I am complete in Christ  (Col. 2:10).
We are not inadequate.  We are not lacking. We are not limited.  We are women, made whole, in Christ.

I cannot be separated from the love of God (Rom. 8: 35).
Nothing can strip us of God’’s love.  We have nothing to fear on earth because God’’s love for us can withstand all things for all time.

I am God’’s workmanship (Eph. 2:10).
We are God’’s masterpieces! We have been created with planning and purpose unique to each woman.

I am chosen of God, holy and dearly loved (Col. 3:12; 1 Thes. 1:4).
We are wanted. Sometimes it seems hard to believe, but God wants us! He chose us and He loves us beyond what we can imagine.

I died with Christ and died to the power of sin’s rule over my life (Rom. 6:1-6).
We do not have to believe Satan’’s lies. We are no longer bound to a definition of beauty that is measured in pounds and calories. We are beautiful in our identity in Jesus Christ!

We need to start seeing ourselves as God sees us.

One response to “Redefined: Seeing Ourselves as God Sees Us

  1. This IS my heart’s cry – for people, especially women, to be able to embrace who it is God has made them, individually, unique, quirky, yes even weird. Thank you for this post. I really appreciate it!

    ~ Raylene from It’s OK to be WEIRD!

Leave a Reply

