Just The Way I Like It

by Katelyn McNeil

Today we are creating, drawing, gluing, decorating. Today we are making Christmas cards.

Sequins, construction paper, and multi-colored pipe cleaners cover the small kitchen counter. I nanny for two little girls, Allison and her older sister Alicia. Alli finishes her Christmas tree and excitedly calls me over to see it.

“Katelyn, isn’t it pretty?” she asks. Pink, purple, yellow, red and blue colored splotches cover this five-year-old’s, hand-drawn, tiny Christmas tree. Scratches from a glittery crayon poke out all over the paper, as what I assume to be tinsel.  A gold star, larger than the trunk of the tree is plunked atop the highest bow.

“It’s perfect Alli!” I can see by the look on her face that she is pleased, content.

“Allison, you’re Christmas tree is very pretty but it’s not right!” says Alicia, leaning over her sister’s artwork.

Allison’s brow furrows; contentment hangs in the balance.

“The balls are too big and so is the star,” points out her sister, “you could just make your branches bigger or something.”

Alli is quiet. Then she says, “It’s ok.” Cocking her head a little to the left, “I like it this way.” She smiles.

She traces her finger from branch to branch as she continues smiling.

I’d like to think that that’s what God does when He looks at me. When I start to see the ways I don’t look like the women in Cosmo Magazine. When little thoughts wiggle their way into my mind saying, You don’t look the way you’re supposed to; You’re not the right shape, the right size; You could just be a little more…”

Then ever so gently, God in his infinite wisdom, perhaps cocking his head a little to left, whispers, “It’s ok. I like you this way… because I made you this way.”

I love what David says in Psalm 139:13-17:
“13 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. 14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. 15 My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. 16 Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. 17 How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast the sum of them!”
David reminds me of what is most important. God created me.

I am part of God’s creation.  He has made me wonderfully; He has made you wonderfully. My “inmost being”, – my spirit, emotions, and personality – was knit together in what God thinks is the most perfect way for me to be Katelyn. My “frame” – my physical body – my arms and legs, my hair and skin, fingernails and cheekbones, were woven together just how God wanted them to be. And when He created me, when He created you, He looked at was before Him and saw someone beautiful.

He “likes me this way” and I know He likes me this way because scripture tells us God looked at all He had created and called it “good” (Genesis 1:31). And God created me.

Would you call something good if you thought it was ugly? Would you look at a painting you had intricately planned and artistically created and call it “good”, if you thought it was ugly? You wouldn’t. I wouldn’t. And God wouldn’t either.

He looked at the moon, the sky, the clouds and called them good. He observed the trees, the dirt, the rocks and he called them good. He saw his beetles, mice, whales, giraffes and called them good. He created man and woman and called them good. He saw all that He had made and called it good.

As I read over David’s writings again in Psalm 139 I think, why are God’s thoughts so precious to David? I think it’s because David understands how God sees him. He believes that his Maker’s opinion about himself is the only one that really matters and David believes that God sees him as a good, wonderful, beautiful creation.

Leave a Reply

